I love this stuffing recipe!   It’s the one my mom has been making my whole life.  The comments in parentheses are hers!  Thanks, Mom!! 🙂

¾ cup chopped onion

1½ cups chopped celery (stalks and leaves)

1 cup butter or margarine (I think I only use about ¼ -1/3 cup)

9 cups soft bread cubes (a mixture of white and wheat)

2 teaspoons salt (I don’t use that much, maybe 1 teaspoon)

1½ teaspoons crushed sage leaves (use only about ¼ -½ teaspoon rubbed sage or whatever is in a spice bottle)

1 teaspoon thyme leaves (less – more like ¼-½ teaspoon)

½ teaspoon pepper

 

In large skillet, cook and stir onion and celery in butter until onion is tender.  Stir in about 1/3 of the bread cubes.  Turn into deep bowl.  Add remaining ingredients and toss.

 

Put in large casserole dish and pour over about ½ can (+/- a cup) of chicken broth.  Cover and bake for about 30 minutes at 325° to 350°.

 

The original inspiration for the recipe came from the Betty Crocker cookbook.  The changes are courtesy of my mom!

