So, there just weren’t too many deals at any of the stores that I found inspiring this week.  However, I did find a way to save some good money and it will keep paying off in the future!

At Meijer this week, I bought 12 quart-sized Ball canning jars to use for making yogurt and preserving some of this summer’s produce!  The jars were just over $8 and I used a $15 catalina coupon that I had from getting a new prescription filled in the pharmacy, so the jars were essentially FREE!

I made my first batch of homemade yogurt with a new recipe this week and was pretty pleased with how it turned out.  It made 4 quart jars and cost about $3.  The process is very simple and not very time-consuming.  Overall, even if I had paid for the jars, the first batch of yogurt completely paid for them in the cost savings over buying yogurt at the store.

I had been buying Stonyfield Organic Plain yogurt for about $3 a quart (or $12 a gallon).  The Ball jars and the yogurt starter for this batch cost $9 total and I used them to make a gallon of yogurt.  First batch and I’ve already saved $3.  WOW!

One more money saving idea from this week?  Pay attention to those Catalina coupons that print when you checkout.  Last week I received one that said “Save $5 on your next purchase of $50 or more in gift cards.”  I used it this week.  I bought a $50 gift card (paid $45) and then turned around and used the gift card to pay for my groceries.  Instant 10% savings on my groceries without using a single manufacturer’s coupon!

