So, I realize that Easter baskets have really NOTHING to do with the real meaning of Easter.  However, they are fun and my child enjoys getting one, so….  After discussing the REAL meaning of Easter with him.  He will be receiving a basket.  And, of course, it will be a basket on a budget! 🙂

Here are some items that will be included in the baskets at our house (my husband gets a basket, too :)):
(4) Chocolate covered peeps
-purchased at Walgreens this week 2/$1 (used $1/2 printable no longer available) = FREE
(2) M&Ms mini egg $0.99 (used $2/2 from All You magazine) = FREE
-got these last week at CVS
(2) Reese’s PB egg King Size $0.99 (used $1/2 from Sunday paper) = $0.49 ea.
-got these this week at CVS
(2) Kit-Kat candy bars 2/$1 (used $1/2 from Sunday paper, it pictured easter candy, but worked on these) = FREE
-got these this week at CVS
(2) Reese’s regular Reese’s PB cup 2/$1 (used 1/$2 from Sunday paper-same as Kit-Kat) = FREE
-got these this week at CVS
(1) Hot Wheels car $0.99 (only my son gets one of these, although my husband would probably like one, too :))
(2) Cadbury carmel eggs 2/$1 (used these to fill out an order, so I could use a RR last week at Walgreens) = FREE

Baskets (purchased 2-3 years ago and reused every year :))
Easter “grass” $0.99 (FREE after ECB at CVS this week)

There are a couple other deals that I’m going to try and do yet this week to add to the baskets, but I think I have a pretty good start and I’ve spent $1.97 so far. 🙂
I got the idea to post my basket list from The Krazy Coupon Lady’s post about cheap Easter baskets, check it out!

