I can’t believe it, but I’m already starting the school supply buying.  Thank goodness this year they sent home the list for next year before school let out in the spring.  Sure does make watching for deals easier.

Last year I bought all of the school supplies we needed for less than $10.  I’m aiming to beat that this year.  One clarification…..the $10 did NOT include the backpack or lunch bag last year.  Another thing I like to buy this time of year is a year’s supply of printer paper.  Printable coupons are a lot more economical when you pay $2 for a year’s supply of paper!! 😀

Anything we’re “recycling” from last year, I’m counting as “FREE” for this year!  If I have “leftover” things that we’re using for this year, I’ll  post the prices if I remember them. 🙂

Here’s the list of things I have so far:

New backpack “FREE” (purchased on clearance for $6.99 last year and hidden! :))
(4) Two pocket; 3-prong folders “FREE” (leftovers from last year; were $0.10/each)
Pencil case “FREE” (it’s the same one he had last year and it held up REALLY well)
Kid’s Scissors “FREE” (recycling the ones from last year)

Here’s what I’m buying this week (italics are things from the school supply list):

Staples

(2) #2 pencils 8/pack $0.01 (with $5 purchase)
(1) Pentel RSVP pens $4 (Free after $4 easy rebate)
(2) 5 pack Dividers $0.50 – for my coupon binder, it has homemade dividers right now
(2) 100-count 3×5 cards $0.01

Office Depot

(1) 12-in plastic ruler $0.25
(5) Crayola 24-count crayons $0.25 (I use these for Christmas gifts for Samaritan’s Purse Operation Christmas Child, too)
(2) Multipurpose White Printer Paper $6.49 (Mail-in-rebate for $5.49, limit 2)
Sharpie Single Markers 2/$1

I’ll be posting a weekly update with running total of what I’ve bought for school supplies this year.